UAlbany Athletics

UAlbany Announces 2016 Hall of Fame Induction Class

UAlbany Sports Information   07-27-2016

ALBANY, N.Y. -- The University at Albany has announced that it will induct Bob Ford, Michelle Simpson, Casey Halloran, Kevin Rae, Luke Daquino, and the 2003 men’s lacrosse team into the Athletics Hall of Fame this coming fall.

The Great Dane inductees will be honored at a dinner on Friday, Oct. 7 at SEFCU Arena. The inductees will also be recognized at UAlbany’s Homecoming football game versus Richmond on Saturday, Oct. 8. To purchase tickets to the induction ceremony, click here.

Bob Ford served as UAlbany’s head football coach from 1970 to 2013, transitioning the program from club to Division III to Division II to Division I. He was appointed on April 27, 1970 and coached his final game on November 23, 2013. In that time, he compiled a 12-9-1 record in three seasons at the club level and a 41-season varsity record of 256-170. Including nine wins from his time as St. Lawrence’s head coach, Ford’s 265 career victories ranked first among active NCAA Division I college football head coaches and fourth on the all-time FCS chart. In addition, his UAlbany teams owned a 98-69 mark as a Division I FCS program. He also won four Northeast Conference Coach of the Year honors and led the Great Danes to six NEC titles. Ford acted as a mentor to over a thousand student-athletes and over 100 assistant coaches, who are now working in the high school, college, and professional ranks.

Having one of the most decorated careers in program history, Michelle Simpson became the first UAlbany player in the Division I era to earn All-America status, garnering the accolade in 2007 and 2008. Simpson was named the America East Conference Midfielder of the Year in 2008 after scoring 10 goals and recording 12 assists, and earned UAlbany's Female Athlete of the Year for 2008-2009. Simpson finished her career ranked second all-time in career points (101) as well as fourth in goals (37) and assists (27). She was a three-time all-conference first-team selection and was named the Offensive Player of the Year in 2006. Simpson was also a three-time NFHCA All-Northeast Region selection and ECAC Division I All-Star. Simpson was invited to play in the North-South Senior All-Start game after leading the Great Danes to the program's first-ever America East Championship and NCAA Tournament berth. Simpson enters her seventh season as an assistant coach for the UAlbany field hockey team in 2016, helping the Great Danes to a Final Four appearance in 2014 and four NCAA Tournament berths.

During her tenure, Casey Halloran piloted UAlbany to two America East Regular Season Championships, three straight America East Conference Tournament titles and three NCAA Tournament berths (2005-07), including an appearance in the 2007 Regional Final. Halloran twice earned the America East Tournament Most Outstanding Player award and was named the America East Pitcher of the Year and UAlbany Athlete of the Year in 2006. That season, Halloran went 27-10 in the circle with a 1.51 ERA, including a record-breaking 252 strikeouts and four no-hitters. One of UAlbany’s most dominant pitchers of all time, Halloran finished her career with seven program records, including most career wins (73), strikeouts (595), complete games (68), games started (97), innings pitched (650.2), appearances (125), and no-hitters (4).

Teammates Kevin Rae and Luke Daquino piloted the University at Albany men’s lacrosse team to three straight America East titles and berths to the NCAA Tournament in 2003, 2004, and 2005.

Daquino, the first UAlbany player to score 50-plus points in four straight seasons, finished his career as the program's all-time scorer with 234 points (103 goals, 131 assists). He shattered a record that had stood since 1992. Currently, he ranks fifth all-time for points and second for assists. An All-America attackman, Daquino earned America East All-Conference honors all four seasons, including three first-team accolades and was the 2003 America East Player of the Year.

Rae wrapped his career ranked second all-time in program history with 825 saves. A three-time all-conference honoree, Rae was named the 2002 America East Rookie of the Year and first-team all-conference in 2005. Leading the Great Danes to three straight NCAA berths, Rae was named the championship’s Most Outstanding Player in all three America East Conference title games.

The 2003 men’s lacrosse team was the first UAlbany team in the Division I era to reach the NCAA Tournament in any sport. Under the direction of Head Coach Scott Marr in his third season at the helm, the Great Danes accrued a 10-6 overall record. As the No. 2 seed in the America East Tournament, UAlbany overcame Stony Brook, 11-5, before trumping the top-seeded Hartford Hawks, 7-5, in the championship. In the University’s first NCAA Division I Tournament contest, the Great Danes faced perennial power Princeton to close UAlbany’s historical season.




2018 Commitment to Education Day
January 30, 2018 Athletics
2018 Commitment to Education Day
America East Student Athletes Help Advise NCAA
October 26, 2017 Athletics
America East Student Athletes Help Advise NCAA