UAlbany Communications and Marketing

Pinheiro Named To MAC Hermann Watch List

UAlbany Sports Information   08-08-2017

ST. LOUIS – University at Albany senior striker Afonso Pinheiro has been named to the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, the Missouri Athletic Club and the United Soccer Coaches announced Tuesday. The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female players of the year. It is the second consecutive year in which Pinheiro has been named to the Watch List.

Pinheiro is one of 61 total student-athletes and 31 men to be named to the Watch List. Among the men’s players, 14 earned All-America honors last season, and two are returning finalists for last year’s MAC Hermann Trophy.

Last season, Pinheiro, a São Paulo, Brazil native, led UAlbany with 13 goals and 31 points, starting all 21 games for the Great Danes. His point total ranks first in program history for points in a single season, and his goal total ranks second. 

Additionally, Pinheiro was named America East All-Conference Second Team, America East All-Tournament, NSCAA All-East Second Team, and NSCAA Scholar All-East First Team.

For his career, Pinheiro is the UAlbany all-time leader in points, with 73, and in goals in the Division I era, with 31. His scoring prowess, flanked by fellow striker Nico Solabarrieta and midfielder Carlos Clark, and anchored by a stonewall defensive line, helped UAlbany win its first-ever America East Championship, advance to the Sweet 16 in the NCAA Tournament, and attain the highest ranking in program history (17 NSCAA, 10 Top Drawer Soccer, 18 College Soccer News).

Fifteen semifinalists for the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy will be announced on November 29, and three finalists will be announced on December 8 before the trophy recipient is announced on January 5, 2018 at the Missouri Athletic Club banquet in St. Louis.

The semifinalists will be determined by All-America voting conducted by NCAA Division I men’s soccer coaches with oversight from the United Soccer Coaches (formerly NSCAA) NCAA Division I Men’s Senior College All-America Committee. While the Watch List serves as a preliminary identification of candidates in contention, all Division I players are eligible for the MAC Hermann Trophy. 

Last season, Wake Forest men’s senior midfielder Ian Harkes and West Virginia women’s senior defender Kadeisha Buchanan were the recipients of the MAC Hermann Trophy. 

The men’s soccer season begins Friday, August 25 at Marist. The Great Danes will play their home opener on Monday, August 28 against Rhode Island.

Reserve your season tickets for the 2017 season for the low price of $50.

This year's season ticket package includes:

  • Gold Chairback Seating!
  • Postseason ticket priority!
  • Official UAlbany Soccer scarf!

Click here to purchase your 2017 UAlbany Men's Soccer season tickets.  For more information, interested parties may visit or call the UAlbany ticket office at 518-442-DANE.




Men's Soccer Clinches Playoff Spot, 3-0, over Binghamton
October 31, 2018 Soccer - M
Men's Soccer Clinches Playoff Spot, 3-0, over Binghamton
Men's Soccer Blanks UMBC, 2-0
October 27, 2018 Soccer - M
Men's Soccer Blanks UMBC, 2-0
MBB $3 Kids Days