UAlbany Communications and Marketing

UAlbany Field Hockey Players Honored with NFHCA Academic Awards

UAlbany Sports Information   03-16-2017

ALBANY, N.Y. – After being honored with a team academic award from the NFHCA, several members of the UAlbany field hockey team have been selected to the NFHCA National Academic Squad and as Scholars of Distinction.

Emily Fraser, Melissa Nealon and Taylor Schwoyer were all honored as NFHCA Scholars of Distinction, given to those with a 3.90 cumulative GPA or better through the first semester of the 2016-17 season.

UAlbany is one of just 16 Division I programs with at least three NFHCA Scholars of Distinction. 

In addition, 11 UAlbany players, including the above three, Rachel Billig, Anna Bottino, Kelsey Briddell, Frederike Helmke, Paula Heuser, Molly Mariano, Maxi Primus and Viola Von der Mühlen were placed on the NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad.  Those on the squad earned a 3.30 GPA or greater through the first semester of the 2016-17 season.

Heuser, Mariano, Primus and Schwoyer, all graduating seniors, are four-year members of the NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad.

Last week, UAlbany was honored with the Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA DI National Academic Team Award for a 3.51 team GPA.

On the turf, UAlbany won the America East regular season title in the East Division, finishing 14-6 overall with a 7-1 conference slate.