Greg Wall

Fields, Ierlan Named to 2018 Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List

UAlbany Sports Information   03-01-2018

NEW YORK – Two UAlbany men’s lacrosse players, Connor Fields and TD Ierlan, have been placed on the 2018 Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced on Thursday night.

Fields and Ierlan are two of the 50 male players across the country named to the watch list.

The Tewaaraton Trophy is given to the top player in college lacrosse.  On the men’s side, UAlbany’s Miles and Lyle Thompson shared the 2014 Tewaaraton Trophy, with Lyle winning it outright in 2015.

The UAlbany men’s lacrosse team has had at least one player on the watch list each of the past 12 years.  Fields is earning a spot on the watch list for the third year running while Ierlan joins for the first time.

Fields was a 2017 Tewaaraton finalist, earning the fourth highest scoring season in Division I history with 117 points off 55 goals and 62 assists.  The senior attack stands with 13 points off four goals and nine assists through his first two games, having 291 career points.

Ierlan, a USILA and Inside Lacrosse All-American as a freshman last year, was second in Division I with a 70.8% faceoff rate and first with 11.22 ground balls a game, totaling 202.  Through two games, the sophomore has won 86% of faceoffs for 26 ground balls.

Additions to the watch list will be announced on March 22nd and April 5th.  The field will be narrowed to 25 nominees on April 26th and to five finalists on May 10th.  The 18th annual Tewaaraton Trophy Ceremony will be on May 31st in Washington, D.C.




One More Time: Thank You, Fans!
June 05, 2018 Lacrosse - M
One More Time: Thank You, Fans!
Men's Lacrosse Falls to Yale in Semifinal to Close out Historic Season
May 26, 2018 Lacrosse - M
Men's Lacrosse Falls to Yale in Semifinal to Close out Historic Season
MBB v Dartmouth
MBB $3 Kids Days