Federation of Intl. Lacrosse

2018 FIL World Championship Day Eight (July 19th) - UAlbany

UAlbany Sports Information   07-19-2018

Canada 15, Iroquois Nationals 4

Canada is back in the FIL title game after a 15-4 win over the Iroquois Nationals in the semifinal round.  Merrick Thomson’s offense had its second-best offensive showing in the tournament, including three players having at least three goals.

For the Iroquois Nationals, Lyle Thompson ’15 had two goals, while Tehoka Nanticoke grabbed two loose balls.

Canada will play the USA for the FIL championship on Saturday, July 21st at 3 a.m. ET/10 a.m. IDT, trying to defend its 2014 title.  The Iroquois Nationals will play in the FIL Third Place Game, going against Australia, which lost to the USA in the semifinals, tomorrow at 1 p.m. ET/8 p.m. IDT.

Japan 10, Israel 9

Israel came up just short of joining the next Blue Division, as a back-and-forth game saw Japan winning 10-9.  Eric Cantor ’15 helped on the Israel defense while Eric Wolf’s ’07 offense had three multi-goal scorers.

England 11, Puerto Rico 4

Puerto Rico also came up shy of a Blue Division spot for 2022, falling to England 11-4 despite outshooting its opponent 32-28.  Kevin McNally ’16, Will Ramos and Steve Ramirez all played in the game for Puerto Rico.

This sets up the 7th Place Game between Israel and Puerto Rico tomorrow at 10 a.m. ET/5 p.m. IDT.

Jamaica 8, Finland 7

Jamaica scored twice in the final 3:11 of the game to win its fifth straight game, defeating Finland 8-7.  Niyan Oladipo ’01 helped Jamaica hold yet another opponent to single digit goals.

Latvia 13, Greece 9

A late 3-0 goal run by Latvia secured a 13-9 victory over Greece on Thursday.  Eli Lasda ’17 had a huge day on three goals, an assist and two loose balls.

Future games involving UAlbany personnel:

7/20, 3:45 a.m. ET/10:45 a.m. IDT: Jamaica vs. Wales, FIL 13th Place Game

7/20, 10 a.m. ET/5 p.m. IDT: Israel vs. Puerto Rico, FIL 7th Place Game

7/20, 1 p.m. ET/8 p.m. IDT: Iroquois Nationals vs. Australia, FIL Third Place Game

7/20, 2:45 p.m. ET/9:45 p.m. IDT: Latvia vs. Norway, FIL 17th Place Game

7/21, 3 a.m. ET/10 a.m. IDT: Canada vs. USA, FIL Championship

MORE FROM UALBANY Lacrosse - M

MORE HEADLINES

GREAT DANE TVON-DEMAND VIDEO

<
One More Time: Thank You, Fans!
June 05, 2018 Lacrosse - M
One More Time: Thank You, Fans!
WATCH MORE VIDEO
Men's Lacrosse Falls to Yale in Semifinal to Close out Historic Season
May 26, 2018 Lacrosse - M
Men's Lacrosse Falls to Yale in Semifinal to Close out Historic Season
WATCH MORE VIDEO
>
WBB v BU
MBB v Manhattan