Women's Basketball Picked to Repeat as America East Conference Champions

ALBANY, N.Y. -- The University at Albany women's basketball team was chosen by the league coaches to repeat as America East Conference champions, as announced by the league at the 2012 Men's & Women's Basketball Media Day at SEFCU Arena.

After posting a 23-10 overall record, and going 14-2 in conference play, UAlbany won its first-ever America East Conference title, and earned a berth into the NCAA Tournament. The Great Danes earned five first-place votes for 61 total points in the poll, followed by 2011-12 regular season champion Boston U., with two first-place nods and 56 points. Hartford, with 54 points, garnered the final two first-place votes for third place.

New Hampshire and Vermont tied for fourth with 37 points apiece, followed by UMBC (34 points), Maine (17 points), Binghamton (16 points), and Stony Brook (12 points).

The Great Danes return three of their five starters, including preseason all-conference selections Ebone Henry and Julie Forster. Henry, who has garnered back-to-back Defensive Player of the Year honors, as she helped UAlbany hold opponents to 53.4 points per game last season. She was also first on the team, and second in the conference, in scoring, netting 14.3 points per game. Forster, who has led the America East in rebounding every season in her career, averaged 10.3 boards per game last year, en route to being named to the America East All-Conference Second Team.

Third-year head coach Katie Abrahamson-Henderson, who was named the America East Coach of the Year after leading UAlbany to the most wins in Division I history, also guided the Great Danes to their most America East wins and highest finish in program history.