Three Current Great Danes to Compete in 2016 FIL U19 Men’s Lacrosse World Championships

2016 FIL U19 Men's Lacrosse Championship Website

COQUITLAM, B.C. – Three members of the UAlbany men’s lacrosse team will be playing in the 2016 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) Under-19 Men’s Lacrosse World Championships starting on July 7th.

Chaunce Hill and Colyn Lyons will represent the Iroquois Nationals while Zach Ornstein will play for Team Israel.

In addition, UAlbany assistant coach Merrick Thomson will serve as the offensive coordinator for Team Canada.

The 2016 FIL U-19 World Championships will take place from July 7-16th in Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada.  14 nations will be represented in the tournament in three different divisions.  The Iroquois Nationals play in the top-level blue division while Israel plays in the red division.

The USA has won the tournament each time, defeating Canada the last four years in the championship game including the last time in 2012.  The Iroquois Nationals took third in 2012 over England.

Hill and Lyons were part of UAlbany's defense with the former playing LSM and the latter playing close defense.  Ornstein was UAlbany’s primary faceoff man in 2016.  All three just played their freshman season for the Great Danes.

The tournament kicks off on Thursday, July 7th as host Canada takes on the United States at 10:30 p.m. ET (7:30 p.m. PT).  The Iroquois Nationals open against England on Friday, July 8th at 10:30 p.m. ET (7:30 p.m. PT) while Israel begins its play against Hong Kong the same day at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT).

MORE HEADLINES

GREAT DANE TVON-DEMAND VIDEO

<
Men's Lacrosse Powers Past UNC in NCAA First Round
May 13, 2017 Lacrosse - M
Men's Lacrosse Powers Past UNC in NCAA First Round
WATCH MORE VIDEO
Men's Lacrosse Crushes Stony Brook, 19-6
May 04, 2017 Lacrosse - M
Men's Lacrosse Crushes Stony Brook, 19-6
WATCH MORE VIDEO
>

GREAT DANE TV ON AMERICAEAST.TV