Blaze Riorden Honored as America East Defensive Player of the Year, Scott Marr America East Coach of the Year to Highlight 2016 League Yearly Awards

ALBANY, N.Y. – Blaze Riorden earned America East Defensive Player of the Year and Scott Marr is honored as America East Coach of the Year as the 2016 conference men’s lacrosse yearly awards were announced on Wednesday.

Marr earns his fifth America East Coach of the Year honor and third in four years, also being chosen in 2013 and 2014.  Riorden is selected for an America East yearly honor for the first time in his career.  It is the first season where the player of the year honors are split into offensive and defensive.

In addition, UAlbany placed six players on the America East All-Conference squads, including five on the First Team.  UAlbany also put three players on the America East All-Rookie Team and four on the All-Academic Team.

Riorden, Connor Fields, Seth Oakes, Troy Reh and Stone Sims earned First Team honors while John Maloney got Second Team.  Jack Burgmaster, Eric Dluhy and Zach Ornstein were selected to the All-Rookie Team while James Burdette, Fields, Maloney and Kyle McClancy were chosen for the All-Academic Team.

The America East honors were announced at the pre-tournament awards reception at the Desmond Hotel and Conference Center in Albany.

Riorden, a 2016 Tewaaraton nominee, will graduate as a four-time all-conference player, including the last three years on the first team.  The senior goalkeeper stands third in Division I with 12.64 saves per game and sixth with a 57.5% save percentage.  In total, Riorden has a 12-2 record, allowing 9.51 goals per game.  The three-time America East Defensive Player of the Week has had at least eight games with 14+ saves, including victories over Cornell, Harvard, Stony Brook and Yale.

Marr has coached UAlbany to a #4 ranking in the USILA Coaches Poll and Inside Lacrosse Cascade/Maverik Media Poll, the highest rankings for the team since 2007.  UAlbany just completed its four consecutive perfect America East regular season and is the 1-seed for the upcoming America East Tournament.

Fields grabs All-Conference First Team honors for the second time in as many years at UAlbany.  The sophomore attack is a 2016 Tewaaraton nominee after standing third in Division I in points per game, totaling 39 goals and 29 assists on the season.  The three-time America East Offensive Player of the Week has scored at least two points in 13 of UAlbany’s 14 games, including eight 5+ point games.  Fields also landed on the All-Academic Team with a 3.55 GPA in business.

Oakes earns his second consecutive appearance on the all-conference teams and first on the First Team.   Ranking seventh in Division I in goals per game, the redshirt junior attack leads UAlbany with 43 goals, adding nine assists for 52 points.  The 2016 Tewaaraton Watch List member and one-time America East Offensive Player of the Week had recorded a hat trick or better in 10 games this season.

Reh earns his first-ever all-conference selection in 2016.  The sophomore long stick midfielder and member of the face-off unit in tied for the team lead with 14 caused turnovers, adding 40 ground balls.  He stands with one America East Defensive Player of the Week award.

Sims is selected as an all-conference player for the second time in his two-year college career.  The sophomore close defender is tied with the team lead with 14 caused turnovers, adding 11 ground balls and UAlbany’s only goal by a primary-defensive player.

Maloney joins the All-Conference Second Team for the second straight year.  A senior two-way midfielder on the first line, he leads all UAlbany non-attackmen with 32 points off 17 goals and 15 assists, adding 35 ground balls and eight caused turnovers.  He has at least one point in 11 of UAlbany’s 13 games this season.  Maloney also returns to the All-Academic Team for his third time with a 3.40 GPA in human biology.

Burgmaster joins the all-rookie team after being one of UAlbany’s primary midfielders.  Playing in 11 games on the second line, the freshman has three goals, four assists and a pair of caused turnovers, putting a point on the board in seven different games.

Dluhy gets a place on the all-rookie team as part of UAlbany’s defensive unit.  A freshman close defenseman, he stands with nine ground balls and two caused turnovers, playing in all 14 games with one start.

Ornstein earns all-rookie honors as UAlbany’s primary faceoff specialist.  The three-time America East Rookie of the Week is 12th in Division I in ground balls per game and holds a 56.7% faceoff win rate, adding 86 ground balls and five points off two goals and three assists.

Burdette, a team captain for UAlbany, finds his way to the All-Academic Team for the second straight year with a 3.80 GPA in business.  The junior close defenseman has started 12 of 14 games for UAlbany, standing with 16 ground balls and eight caused turnovers.

McClancy has the highest GPA of anyone on the America East Men’s Lacrosse All-Academic Team at 3.96 as a double major in accounting and economics.  A member of the first midfield, McClancy has three goals, 10 assists, 25 ground balls and six caused turnovers on the season.

In the other two major awards, Vermont’s Ian MacKay was picked as the America East Offensive Player of the Year while Hartford’s Dylan Jinks is the America East Rookie of the Year.

UAlbany will play its semifinal game of the America East Tournament on Thursday, May 5th at 7 p.m., hosting Hartford at Tom & Mary Casey Stadium.

2016 America East Men’s Lacrosse Major Awards

America East Offensive Player of the Year: Ian MacKay, Vermont

America East Defensive Player of the Year: Blaze Riorden, UAlbany

America East Rookie of the Year: Dylan Jinks, Hartford

America East Coach of the Year: Scott Marr, UAlbany

2016 America East Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

First Team

Attack – Connor Fields, UAlbany, Seth Oakes, UAlbany, Matt Schultz, Stony Brook

Midfield – Alex Corpolongo, Stony Brook, Challen Rogers, Stony Brook, Ian MacKay, Vermont

Defense – Stone Sims, UAlbany, Zach Esser, UMBC, Lucas Rock, Stony Brook

LSM – Troy Reh, UAlbany

SSDM – Jeff Reh, Stony Brook

Faceoff Man – Dylan Protesto, Hartford

Goalkeeper – Blaze Riorden, UAlbany

Second Team

Attack – Nate Lewnes, UMBC, Brody Eastwood, Stony Brook, Cam Milligan, Vermont

Midfield – John Maloney, UAlbany, Zach Scaduto, Binghamton, Chris Hughes, Stony Brook

Defense – Chris Duffy, Hartford, Dylan Curry, Stony Brook, Ben Randall, Stony Brook

LSM – George Deignan, Binghamton

SSDM – Steve Winsor, UMBC

Faceoff Man – Jay Lindsay, Stony Brook

Goalkeeper – Zach Oliveri, Stony Brook

All-Rookie Team

UAlbany: Jack Burgmaster, Erik Dluhy, Zach Ornstein

Binghamton: Joe Licata

Hartford: Dylan Jinks

UMBC: Jack Andrews, Billy Nolan

UMass Lowell: Grant Lardieri, Blaine McMahon

Stony Brook: Ryland Rees

Vermont: Jack Knight, Dawes Milchling

All-Academic Team (GPA, Major)

UAlbany: James Burdette (3.80, Business), Connor Fields (3.55, Business), John Maloney (3.40, Human Biology), Kyle McClancy (3.96, Accounting/Economics)

Binghamton: Zach Scaduto (3.56, Business Administration)

Hartford: Chris Duffy (3.47, Civil Engineering), Will Dulin (3.78, Business), Brendan Gates (3.83, Health Sciences/Physical Therapy), Kevin Sanna (3.56, Marketing), Jake Vogl (3.68, Accounting)

UMBC: Nate Lewnes (3.30, Media & Communication Studies/Sociology)

UMass Lowell: Will Puduski (3.80, Business Administration/Finance)

Stony Brook: Alex Corpolongo (3.44, Civil Engineering), Lucas Rock (3.55, Political Science/Business Management)




Men's Lacrosse Set to Host Vermont
March 15, 2018 Lacrosse - M
Men's Lacrosse Set to Host Vermont
Behind the Scenes as Men's Lacrosse Beat Maryland
March 12, 2018 Lacrosse - M
Behind the Scenes as Men's Lacrosse Beat Maryland