2012-13 Rewind: A Record-Breaking Year

ALBANY, N.Y. – On May 6th, the University at Albany Athletic Department gathered on the floor of SEFCU Arena for the 13th Annual Great Dane Awards Dinner -- a yearly event in which University officials, athletic administrators, coaches, student-athletes, and supporters celebrate the accomplishments, victories, and championships of the department. However, this year was different. It was historic. It was special.

The Great Danes celebrated the school’s most successful year in Division I history, winning a record nine conference championships, while making four NCAA Tournament appearances. While it was unknown at the time of the awards dinner, UAlbany also claimed the America East Conference’s Stuart P. Haskell, Jr. Commissioner’s Cup for the second time in school history by the conference’s largest margin of victory since 2002. Below is a list of the Great Danes’ 2012-13 athletic accomplishments with links to the corresponding releases.



  • Michael Arcuri (’81), a former UAlbany football player and member of Congress for New York’s 24th Congressional District, was the recipient of the Distinguished Student-Athlete Alumni Award.
  • The SUNY Chancellor’s Scholar-Athlete Awards were given to Brittney Lane (Cross Country), Lindsey Lowrie (women’s basketball), and Ariana Parker (women’s lacrosse).
  • Julie Forster (women’s basketball) and Jacob Iati (men’s basketball) were recipients of the ECAC Merit Medals, which are given annually to the school’s top senior male and female student-athletes.
  • Brianna Schwoyer (field hockey) and Artie Marrapese (men’s lacrosse) were recipients of the Presidential Scholar-Athlete Award, given to the top senior student-athletes based on cumulative grade-point average.
  • Jessica Ryan (cheer) and Corinne Gratien (dance) received Spirit Awards, given annually to one member of the cheer team and one member of the dance team for their commitment and overall enthusiasm in supporting the UAlbany Great Danes.
  • The Most Valuable Player awards, selected by each program’s coaching staff were given to the following student-athletes… Jessica Longstreth (Field Hockey), Jeff Pierre (Men’s Soccer), Chelsea DeVerna (Women’s Soccer), Ethan Clary (Men’s Cross Country), Brittney Lane (Women’s Cross Country), Drew Smith (Football), Gabby Whitworth (Volleyball), Pat McNish (Women’s Indoor Track and Field), Alexander Bowen (Men’s Indoor Track and Field), Ebone Henry (Women’s Basketball), Mike Black (Men’s Basketball), Chaiwon Youn (Women’s Golf), Rachael Burek (Women’s Lacrosse), Lyle Thompson (Men’s Lacrosse), Alli Rogers (Women’s Outdoor Track and Field), Alexander Bowen (Men’s Outdoor Track and Field), Rocio Lopez (Women’s Tennis), Josh Nethaway (Baseball), Brittney McFawn (Softball).