Lyle Thompson Tabbed As Top Attackman In Division I Men's Lacrosse

ALBANY, N.Y. – Continuing to fill his trophy case in just his sophomore season, University at Albany men’s lacrosse attackman Lyle Thompson garnered the 2013 United States Inside Lacrosse Association Lt. Col. J.L. (Jack) Turnbull Award on Friday, May 24. Lyle became the first Great Dane in program history to be honored with a major USILA award. The Jack Turnbull Award is given to the top attackman in Division I Men’s Lacrosse.

A Tewaaraton Award Finalist, Lyle put together one of the best seasons for an individual in NCAA men’s lacrosse history. The sophomore attack racked up 113 points on 50 goals and 63 assists, which was two points shy of breaking the all-time NCAA record set by Steve Marahol (114 points in 1992). The Onondaga Nation, N.Y. native became the fourth Great Dane to be named the America East Player of the Year. In 17 games, Lyle is the nation’s leader in points per game with 6.65, which is the 13th highest points per game for an individual in NCAA history.

Here are the rest of the yearly awards given out by the USILA:

Outstanding Player of the Year: Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award
Rob Pannell, Cornell University

Outstanding Goalie: Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Award
Austin Kaut, Penn State University

Outstanding Defensive Player: William C. Schmeisser Award
Tucker Durkin, Johns Hopkins University

Outstanding Attackman: Lt. Col. J.L. (Jack) Turnbull Award
Lyle Thompson, University at Albany

Outstanding Midfielder: Lt. J.G. Donald MacLaughlin, Jr. Award
Tom Schreiber, Princeton University