Men’s Lacrosse Jumps Eight Spots In Both National Polls

ALBANY, N.Y.- Going 2-0 this past week, winners of four straight and seven of its last eight, the University at Albany men’s lacrosse moved up eight spots to No. 12 in both the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association and Nike/Inside Lacrosse Media Polls on Monday, April 8.

The Great Danes became just the second team in NCAA men’s lacrosse history to defeat both Syracuse in the Dome and Johns Hopkins at Homewood Field in the same season (Virginia in 2009). Ten times the team that defeated the Orange and Blue Jays in the same season won a national title.

The Great Danes used its third consecutive all-around defensive effort to defeat No. 10 Johns Hopkins on Friday, April 5. UAlbany held the Blue Jays under 10 goals for just the second time in the all-time series to secure its second win against JHU. Freshman goalie Blaze Riorden recorded a career-best 20 saves in the win.

Then on Sunday, UAlbany returned home for just the fourth time this season and exploded on offense against Hartford. The offensive end recorded 24 goals, one shy of tying the program record which was set against Hartford on March 26, 2005. The Great Danes saw 10 different goal scorers in the contest, while the Thompson Trio combined for 14 points on eight goals and six assists.

On the statistical end, Miles and Ty Thompson extended their consecutive point’s streak to 33 and 32 games, respectively. Ty, with goals against Johns Hopkins and Hartford, expanded his consecutive games with a goal to 23. Lyle Thompson’s seven-point performance against Hartford leap-frogged him to seventh all-time at UAlbany for points in a season with 71. Riorden improved his goals against average in the last four games from 13.97 goals to 11.87 goals per game.

The Great Danes will have a week to prepare before they face Vermont on Saturday, April 13 at Virtue Field. The game is set for 1 p.m.

Programs that have defeated Johns Hopkins and Syracuse in the same season in NCAA Tournament era (i.e. dating from 1971)

Virginia, nine times
2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006*, 2003*, 1999*, 1996, 1994

Princeton, four times
2009, 2001*, 1998*, 1996*

North Carolina, four times
1993, 1991*, 1986*, 1981*

Loyola, twice
1999, 1998




*-denotes national champion