UAlbany Athletics

2018 FIL World Championship Day Seven (July 18th) - UAlbany

UAlbany Sports Information   07-18-2018

Iroquois Nationals 14, Puerto Rico 7

Trailing 3-0 after the first quarter, the Iroquois Nationals outscored its opponent 14-4 the rest of the way to defeat Puerto Rico and advance to the semifinal round.  Puerto Rico suffers its first loss of the tournament. 

Four UAlbany personnel had goals for the Iroquois: Miles Thompson ’14 had two goals and an assist, Ty Thompson ’14 had two goals, Lyle Thompson ’14 had a goal and two assists while Tehoka Nanticoke scored a goal.

For Puerto Rico, Kevin McNally ’16 had another hat trick, adding an assist for four points.  Will Ramos notched a goal, while Steve Ramirez had an assist.

The Iroquois Nationals will rematch against Canada for the semifinal round tomorrow at 11 a.m. ET/6 p.m. IDT.  The victor of that game plays the winner of USA-Australia for the FIL championship on Saturday.  

Puerto Rico gets another shot at a Blue Division team, playing England tomorrow at 2:45 p.m. ET/9:45 p.m. IDT. 

Australia 9, Israel 6

An early three-goal lead for Israel did not hold as Australia came back to win 9-6 over the host nation in the quarterfinal round.  Israel gets its first defeat in the tournament.  Eric Cantor ’15 had a pair of loose balls for Israel.

Cantor, Eric Wolf ’07 and Israel will challenge the winner of Japan-Scotland tomorrow at 11:45 a.m. ET/6:45 p.m. IDT.

Jamaica 12, Switzerland 6

Jamaica takes its fifth straight game, using a pair of 5-0 quarters to win 12-6 over Switzerland.  Niyan Oladipo ’01 helped the Jamaica defense to another strong performance. 

Jamaica takes its winning streak into tomorrow to take on Finland at 4:45 a.m. ET/11:45 a.m. IDT.

Wales 10, Latvia 9

Latvia’s comeback came up short on Wednesday, as a Wales goal in the final minute gave Latvia a 10-9 defeat.  Eli Lasda ’17 scored twice, including a pivotal goal late in the third quarter, while Riley Lasda ’15 had a loose ball.

Next up for Latvia in Greece tomorrow at 2:15 p.m. ET/9:15 p.m. IDT. 

Thursday, July 19th games involving UAlbany personnel:

--4:45 a.m. ET/11:15 a.m. IDT: Jamaica vs. Finland

--11 a.m. ET/6 p.m. IDT: Iroquois Nationals vs. Canada

--11:45 a.m. ET/6:45 p.m. IDT: Israel vs. Japan/Scotland

--2:15 p.m. ET/9:15 p.m. IDT: Latvia vs. Greece

--2:45 p.m. ET/9:45 p.m. IDT: Puerto Rico vs. England

MORE FROM UALBANY Lacrosse - M

MORE HEADLINES

GREAT DANE TVON-DEMAND VIDEO

<
One More Time: Thank You, Fans!
June 05, 2018 Lacrosse - M
One More Time: Thank You, Fans!
WATCH MORE VIDEO
Men's Lacrosse Falls to Yale in Semifinal to Close out Historic Season
May 26, 2018 Lacrosse - M
Men's Lacrosse Falls to Yale in Semifinal to Close out Historic Season
WATCH MORE VIDEO
>

GREAT DANE TV ON AMERICAEAST.TV