Canadian Lacrosse Association

2018 FIL World Championship Day Six (July 17th) - UAlbany

UAlbany Sports Information   07-17-2018

Iroquois Nationals 14, Scotland 7

The Iroquois Nationals (3-2) secures the 3-seed in the Blue Division to advance to the quarterfinal round, winning 14-7 over Scotland (0-5).  Miles Thompson ’14 had his best day of the tournament with five goals and two assists, while Ron John scored his first goal of the tournament.  Ty Thompson ’14 had two goals, Tehoka Nanticoke notched an assist while Lyle Thompson ’15 finished with a goal.

Israel 16, Ireland 4

Israel has earned its spot in the quarterfinal round and a game against the Blue Division, dominating Ireland 16-4.  Eric Cantor ’15 played on the defense with one loose ball, and the offense of Eric Wolf ’07 had six multi-goal scorers.

Israel will take on Australia, seeded #4 in the Blue Division, tomorrow at 2 p.m. ET/9 p.m. IDT, with the winner advancing to the quarterfinal round vs. the USA.

Puerto Rico 14, Japan 9

Puerto Rico has knocked off former Blue Division member Japan 14-9, leading 10-2 at one point, and earned a trip to the quarterfinal.  Kevin McNally ’16 notched another hat trick, while Steve Ramirez had an assist and a loose ball.  Will Ramos stood in goal for the fourth quarter with a save.

The Iroquois Nationals and Puerto Rico face off tomorrow at 11 a.m. ET/6 p.m. IDT for the quarterfinal round.

Canada 13, Australia 7

Canada (4-1) secured second place in the Blue Division with a six-goal victory over Australia (2-3), giving the team a bye into the tournament semifinals.  Merrick Thomson’s offense has scored in double digits every game.

Canada will next play on Thursday at 11 a.m. ET/6 p.m. IDT, with its opponent be either the Iroquois Nationals or Puerto Rico.

Latvia 9, Norway 8

For the second time in the tournament, Latvia pulled off a late overtime win, defeating Norway 9-8.  Eli Lasda ’17 finished with a goal and two loose balls.

Latvia next plays Wales tomorrow at 11:15 a.m. ET/6:15 p.m. IDT.

Jamaica 11, Greece 4

Jamaica wins its fourth straight game, defeating Greece 11-4 with an eight-goal first half.  Nylan Oladipo ’01 played on defense for Jamaica.

Next up for Jamaica is Switzerland tomorrow at 7:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. IDT. 

Wednesday, July 18th games involving UAlbany personnel:

--7:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. IDT: Jamaica vs. Switzerland

--11:15 a.m. ET/6:15 p.m. IDT: Latvia vs. Wales

--2 p.m. ET/9 p.m. IDT: Israel vs. Australia

--11 a.m. ET/6 p.m. IDT: Iroquois Nationals vs. Puerto Rico

MORE FROM UALBANY Lacrosse - M

MORE HEADLINES

GREAT DANE TVON-DEMAND VIDEO

<
One More Time: Thank You, Fans!
June 05, 2018 Lacrosse - M
One More Time: Thank You, Fans!
WATCH MORE VIDEO
Men's Lacrosse Falls to Yale in Semifinal to Close out Historic Season
May 26, 2018 Lacrosse - M
Men's Lacrosse Falls to Yale in Semifinal to Close out Historic Season
WATCH MORE VIDEO
>
MBB v Dartmouth
MBB $3 Kids Days