Federation of Intl. Lacrosse

2018 FIL World Championship Day Five (July 16th) - UAlbany

UAlbany Sports Information   07-16-2018

Israel 11, the Philippines 8

Israel (3-0) gets one step closer towards a chance at the Blue Division, overpowering the Philippines (3-1) 11-8, with Eric Wolf’s offense having 38 shots to the opponent’s 26.  Eric Cantor ’15 played on the Israel defense in the game with a pair of key caused turnovers late in the fourth quarter.

Next up for Israel is Ireland tomorrow at 2 p.m. ET/9 p.m. IDT.  A win for Israel grants the team a game against a Blue Division team. 

Puerto Rico 14, Germany 9

Puerto Rico (4-0) also continues up the bracket, knocking off Germany (3-1) 14-9 with an eight-goal second half.  Kevin McNally ’16 notched a hat trick while Will Ramos stood in goal for the pivotal second half, having one save and two loose balls.

Puerto Rico next takes on a former Blue Division member, Japan, tomorrow at 2:45 p.m. ET/9:45 p.m. IDT.  A win for Puerto Rico grants the team a game against a Blue Division team.

Latvia 13, Sweden 9

Led by a stellar performance by Eli Lasda ‘17, Latvia (3-1) got back in the win column with a four-goal victory over Sweden (2-2).  Eli Lasda scored on all four shots on goal, adding an assist and three loose balls, while brother Riley Lasda ’15 has two loose balls. 

Latvia plays another member of Scandinavia, Sweden, tomorrow at 5 a.m. ET/12 p.m. IDT.

Jamaica 12, Slovakia 5

Jamaica (3-1) wins its second straight game, leading by eight after three quarters to win 12-5 over Slovakia (2-2).  Niyan Oladipo ’01 appeared in the game for Jamaica.

The next game for Jamaica is tomorrow, 11:15 a.m. ET/6:15 p.m. IDT against the winner of Greece-Argentina.

Canada 10, Iroquois Nationals 5

A UAlbany house divided with Great Dane coaches being the offensive coordinator of each team: Scott Marr for the Iroquois Nationals and Merrick Thomson for the Canada.  Canada (3-1) goalkeeper Dillon Ward had 24 saves en route to his team winning 10-5, moving into second place in the Blue Division and putting the Iroquois Nationals (2-2) in a tie for third.

Lyle Thompson ’15 had two assists, Miles Thompson ’14 had a goal and an assist, while Ty Thompson had the team’s first goal.

Coming up for the Iroquois Nationals is Scotland tomorrow at 11:45 a.m. ET/6:45 p.m. ET, while Canada takes on Australia tomorrow at 7:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. IDT on ESPNU.

Tuesday, July 17th games involving UAlbany personnel:

--5 a.m. ET/12 p.m. IDT: Latvia vs. Sweden (ESPN+)

--7:30 a.m. ET/2:30 p.m. IDT: Canada vs. Australia (ESPNU)

--11:15 a.m. ET/6:15 p.m. IDT: Jamaica vs. Greece/Argentina (ESPN+)

--2 p.m. ET/9 p.m. IDT: Israel vs. Ireland (ESPN+)

--11:45 a.m. ET/6:45 p.m. IDT: Iroquois Nationals vs. Scotland (ESPN+)

--2:45 p.m. ET/9:45 p.m. IDT: Puerto Rico vs. Japan (ESPN+)

MORE FROM UALBANY Lacrosse - M

MORE HEADLINES

GREAT DANE TVON-DEMAND VIDEO

<
One More Time: Thank You, Fans!
June 05, 2018 Lacrosse - M
One More Time: Thank You, Fans!
WATCH MORE VIDEO
Men's Lacrosse Falls to Yale in Semifinal to Close out Historic Season
May 26, 2018 Lacrosse - M
Men's Lacrosse Falls to Yale in Semifinal to Close out Historic Season
WATCH MORE VIDEO
>

GREAT DANE TV ON AMERICAEAST.TV